Books with Jams

Sharing my love of books, one review at a time...📚

Books with Jams

Blog Tour + Book Review – Little Darlings by Melanie Golding

Goodreads Synopsis – 

“Mother knows best” takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Grimms’ Fairy Tales.

Everyone says Lauren Tranter is exhausted, that she needs rest. And they’re right; with newborn twins, Morgan and Riley, she’s never been more tired in her life. But she knows what she saw: that night, in her hospital room, a woman tried to take her babies and replace them with her own…creatures. Yet when the police arrived, they saw no one. Everyone, from her doctor to her husband, thinks she’s imagining things.

A month passes. And one bright summer morning, the babies disappear from Lauren’s side in a park. But when they’re found, something is different about them. The infants look like Morgan and Riley―to everyone else. But to Lauren, something is off. As everyone around her celebrates their return, Lauren begins to scream, These are not my babies.

Determined to bring her true infant sons home, Lauren will risk the unthinkable. But if she’s wrong about what she saw…she’ll be making the biggest mistake of her life.

Compulsive, creepy, and inspired by some our darkest fairy tales, Little Darlings will have you checking―and rechecking―your own little ones. Just to be sure. Just to be safe.


Jam’s Take – 

Whew. I need a minute to process this one, because it was intense, messed up, twisted, and GOOD.  So let’s say you have newborn twins, you are sleep deprived, you have no help from your sorry jerk of a husband, a river woman is trying to steal them when you do sleep, and hangs around your house letting you know she is waiting. Then you fall asleep for a hot minute and wake up and they are gone! Oh, and no one believes a word you say when you tell folks that they aren’t your babies when you get them back, and these ‘creatures’, aka babies, start messing with you when no one is looking. What would you do??? This would literally be the worst possible scenario, but guess what, it all happens to Lauren. And guess what, I enjoyed every single minute of it, trying to figure out what in the world was going on, whether it was all in her head or whether she was telling the truth.

The use of changelings (e.g. a fairy child left in place of a human child) was well done and fascinating. It left me second guessing myself on what was really happening, as I am just not that familiar with this concept. The ending was not unrealistic which was good, because obviously with this premise it certainly could have been.

The detective side of the story was a little distracting from the rest of the story.  DI Harper is a good detective, using her gut instincts to break big cases, but in this one she had to constantly rely on a reporter for what appeared to be basic research skills, which seems odd and a bit unrealistic given her history.

Overall this was ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ / 5 stars – I loved the story, the tie-in of old folklore/fairy tales, and the creep factor. This is Golding’s first novel, a solid debut. Also, not surprisingly, it has been already been optioned for the big screen.

Thank you to Crooked Lane Books for the advanced copy of the book to review.  This review is part of the blog tour for this book.  See the image below if you would like to see what other bloggers on the tour thought of this book as well.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: